Tanning under 18 years of age.
You must have written parental permission to tan in NEW JERSEY if you are 17 years old.
Tan in moderation, never burn and always use a Salon Quality Tanning Lotion!
March 30th, 2007 –Trenton, New Jersey
According to AB 2936 all persons under 18 years of age will be required to have written permission to tan in New Jersey.
Sunny Days Tanning Professionals will provide the appropriate forms for you in advance.
You will NOT be allowed to tan without this form signed by a parent or legal guardian.
The New Jersey Legislature passed Assembly Bill 2936 by a 76-1-2 vote on June 8. The bill, which seeks to institute statewide tanning salon restrictions for tanning salons and customers, has been sent to the Senate for consideration where an identical bill, SB 1225, is undergoing a second reading. As of today, a date has not been announced for a vote on the bill.
The bill seeks to prohibit minors under age 17 from using tanning facilities, and prohibit minors under 17 from using tanning facilities without the written authorization of a parent or legal guardian.
The prohibition does not apply to emancipated minors.
Previous to the passing of AB 2936, New Jersey did not have an age restriction for using tanning facilities.
The law also would require that a tanning facility operator conspicuously post a sign in the reception area stating:
ACCORDING TO NEW JERSEY STATE LAW, PERSONS UNDER THE AGE OF 17 SHALL NOT BE PERMITTED TO — USE ANY INDOOR UV TANNING EQUIPMENT.
IF YOU ARE 17 YEARS OF AGE, YOU REQUIRE WRITTEN AUTHORIZATION OF A PARENT OR LEGAL GUARDIAN.